Spice up Your Life!

spice-box

Put taste back into on the menu and spice up your life the easy way!

Cleaning up your diet and transitioning to real food can seem momentarily dull when compared to the drama of flavours your taste buds have experienced in the past.  Things like: orange sherbert, tangy sweet and sour sauce; tomato soup, chicken and gravy pie in a thick buttery crust, chicken korma: the very mention of these names and your taste buds prick up, juices start to flow and messages shoot up to your brain: I’m hungry….

But these foods are deliberately designed to do just that.  The food industry has manufactured these “foods” to manipulate your sense of taste and to such an extent that you can no longer “hear” the flavours of real food.   It’s like going to a loud rock concert and having your ears blown off by the noise.  When the music has finished and you turn back to the crowd, you can no longer hear the sound their voices make, it’s all muffled.  Your hearing has “gone”.  It has become de-sensitised to the regular pitch of every day sounds.  It comes back though and in this same way you can trust that your own taste buds will “return” over time as you cultivate a real food diet.  And after a while, you will be amazed how good real food tastes, how bright the colours and how extraordinarily simple and at the same time complicated real food can be.

In the intervening period, eating real food requires you to invest in your own transitioning process which is: seasoning!  Go wild and don’t stint..nature provides us with endless wonderful varieties of warming, searing, tantalizing flavours to re-educate your taste buds and bring them back down to normal.  We are talking cinnamon, cloves and ginger; sage, rosemary and dill; chillies, cayenne and chipottle; garlic, pepper and horseradish; Chinese five spice powder.. the list is endless as is the variety of ways you can cook.

Make cooking fun: approach real food recipes as a starting point then add, leave out, adjust, tweak, change and simply create the meal that you want to please your taste buds – and that’s what makes cooking fun.  There is no one size fits all approach to the Paleo Works diet programs, they just simply work, that’s what makes it so sustainable.  Feed your body real food , ditch bad fat for good fat (such as coconut oil or ghee), and your body responds – it  knows instinctively when you have found the right balance and that’s empowering too!    Take it from us there is nothing to lose and everything to gain. Paleo Works – and we could all use a little spice in our lives!

Do you have any good and spicey paleo recipes?  Write in..we would love to hear..don’t forget sharing is fun…but spicing up your life is even more amazing!

About Paleo Works

Paleo Works Have you ever wondered how you arrived at “being overweight” and thought how difficult it is to get rid of and keep off those excess pounds? Hi, I’m Katie and together with Mike my husband, we are Paleo Works. As a busy working mum of four, I often watched others embark on weight loss progammes only to return to their start weight (and then some) shortly after reaching their target. Why was this happening? Conventional dietary wisdom would have us believe that it’s YOU who has failed. But Mike and I thought different. We felt that there had to be something wrong with that conventional dietary wisdom after all we can’t all be hopeless? So we studied intensely, sought out advice and read avidly. We questioned robustly and talked with many on various 'dieting' regimes. What we found was radical, our story has to be told, our knowledge has to be shared. So If you are ready to stop blaming your self for being overweight and ready to change your approach to weight loss then contact us and let’s get started!

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I don’t know if I can start on the Paleo plan, but I do love these recipes that feature tons of “whole”, natural ingredients…so refreshing to see! And I love this article on spices. So many people forget that there’s a million spices you can experiment with in cooking!

  2. I completely agree, I’m on this Paleo transition and now I’m starting to appreciate the flavors of natures food, this morning i added bell peppers to my mushroom omelet and never before had i taste the richness of a red bell pepper i was amazed. I am still learning how to properly use spices and which give what kind of kick. Its a learning game.

  3. Reblogged this on Primal Cut and commented:
    In agreement with this post, if your lacking flavour due to the riddance of the junk, it’s time to learn about the plethora of spices around.

  4. Spicy foods! I love them. I think what you are talking about with flavor desensitization is quite accurate. After going vegetarian and vegan for a couple years, I could actually picture the taste of different kinds of greens (no more processed crap). Eating whole foods dramatically changed my idea of flavor. While I no longer am vegetarian or vegan, I am not entirely a Paleo eater. Eating animal products is still a mind trip 😉 but I’m trying to get over it.

  5. Reblogged this on Health and Wellbeing and commented:
    Spice up your life!
    If you want to rebalance your taste buds and eat less salt, fat and sugar in your diet then read this fab article from Paleo Works. It will provide you with the inspiration you need to experiment with different tastes and help you reduce your salt intake.

  6. I can really connect to this post, the clients I’ve been working with have a number of lifestyle goals that they want to change. Diet has been the main focus for many of the people I’m working with, specifically cutting down on salt fat and sugar. Advising people to use fresh herbs and spices has been part of the information I give to support change. Thanks for reminding me about 5 Chinese spices and others, my clients are always looking for ways to spice of their food without salt.

  7. As they say, “Spice is the variety of life..” … erh, wait…

    Nice post about spices. I find I am constantly reaching for paprika, garlic, cumin, tumeric, and others every time I am cooking.

    Out of curiosity (I’m not Paleo, I will admit that here and now), why no tomato soup? If you mean the store bought stuff, I totally get it, but what’s the matter with homemade (just curious, not arguing)?

    Thanks for the reminder about adding flavor to food. Sometimes I forget and my grilled chicken gets ‘old’ quickly. 🙂

  8. KaayaFitnessKoach

    I think you are on to something here. Being half-Indian, I am so accustomed to spice in my diet. I do love all types of cuisines, but I have a special place in my heart for spicy food. When transitioning over to a Paleo diet, it makes sense to use spices to keep your food interesting and appetizing. Great post!!!

  9. Thanks for sharing incredible information. My goal is to give my clients as much info as they need to make choices that work for them. Your work allows me to give great thoughts. Thanks

  10. Great post! I couldn’t agree more. A solid investment in a good, varied spice rack will go a long way in transitioning yourself away from the manufacturer flavors we all know and (in some part of our still programmed brain) love. But if you stick with it and find delicious combinations you like (which you will), it’s only a matter of time before your spice rack becomes your best friend.

  11. spice and fresh herbs are AMAZING in food! 😀

  12. Spices are a great way to transition into a healthier diet. They were my saving grace when I made the switch to all organic and removed gluten, higher fructose fruits and lactose from my diet. Great advice here for those just starting out or a nice reminder or pat on the back to those of us who have been doing this now for quite sometime.Thanks and keep on posting!–DJ Katie in Miami

  1. Pingback: A Food Journal « Paleo Works: How To Diet

  2. Pingback: WTF: Diet, Yoga or Stress | The Paleocookbook Site

  3. Pingback: Spice up Your Life! | Paleo Works | Scoop.it

Leave a comment if you liked this or not, your opinion is valued and used to improve our service.

