Leap of Faith or Indiana Jones and me

Often times, I notice people remarking on the perceived difficulty in transitioning to paleo from the standard diet (American or other).  Folks, it doesn’t have to be hard!  There is no boot camp, no calorie counting, no meditation,

meditating-dog

no yoga, induction no phase I, II or III, no Jenni Murray style moans from the Daily Mail.

For me going paleo came out of a simple heartfelt desire to be strong and to live well and up to that point, it simply wasn’t happening.  I read somewhere a quote from Candace Pert which shocked me:  your body is your subconscious mind.  This was picked up recently by Nora Gedgaudas at the Ancestral Health Symposium 2011 who wrote of her agreement to this and added that anyone who thinks their conscious mind is running the show is seriously mistaken.

If this is true then what I had called my life was filtered through a diet “screen” of unnatural junk, processed food and sugar.  My mind, my perception, my experience was coloured by this and seriously off.  In the end, there did not seem to be a choice.  I wanted change and something had to be done.  And with that single commitment within days, a GP friend of a friend entered our lives, referred us to the paleo diet and we began to move out of survival mode and we began to thrive.

Here’s something that helped M and me…

In those early days we made a simple shake that could act as a meal replacement.  The main ingredients for this were heavy cream, raw egg, whey protein powder and a little sweet fruit.  Initially we used a sugar free syrup from the internet (raspberry flavour I think) that we found on the internet.  And it tasted thick and good and appeared to line the inside of my belly in a deliciously satisfying way.  In a way I had not experienced for along time.

After a while I moved away from the shakes and dropped this as an item.  M moved in the opposite direction and began to experiment with wilder and wilder concoctions, having fun.  It worked for both of us.  It worked for me because it was a bridge between the old food world order and the new.  Do you remember Indiana Jones when he steps out into a void and a boulder appears beneath his feet which carries him to the next step and the next?  That’s what consuming the shake did for me.  This was after all (for both Indy and me) a leap of faith.  Neither of us ever looked back.

Take what you can from this.  Challenge yourself to paleo even if you only take up the challenge for 30 days.  We are here to walk the journey with you.  Drop by and tell us what you would like from life – we’d love to hear from you!

About Paleo Works

Paleo Works Have you ever wondered how you arrived at “being overweight” and thought how difficult it is to get rid of and keep off those excess pounds? Hi, I’m Katie and together with Mike my husband, we are Paleo Works. As a busy working mum of four, I often watched others embark on weight loss progammes only to return to their start weight (and then some) shortly after reaching their target. Why was this happening? Conventional dietary wisdom would have us believe that it’s YOU who has failed. But Mike and I thought different. We felt that there had to be something wrong with that conventional dietary wisdom after all we can’t all be hopeless? So we studied intensely, sought out advice and read avidly. We questioned robustly and talked with many on various 'dieting' regimes. What we found was radical, our story has to be told, our knowledge has to be shared. So If you are ready to stop blaming your self for being overweight and ready to change your approach to weight loss then contact us and let’s get started!

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Candace Pert, Nora T. Gedgaudas, Paleoworks, The Paleo Experience, The Science and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a comment if you liked this or not, your opinion is valued and used to improve our service.

