Paleo Breakfast with Asparagus

Healthy-Paleo-Breakfast-Asparagus-Prosciutto-Fried Egg-Pecan Halves

Healthy Paleo Breakfast with Asparagus Wrapped in Prosciutto, Fried Egg, and Raw Pecan Halves

Sun’s up!

Went down to the park early this morning chasing tree branches…have you done that recently?  Jumped up and reached?  really stretched your body to reach up..feels good when you make it.  We ran slowly warming our bodies up then ran fast (like tigers were chasing us),  hiding behind trees to catch our breath peeking round corners then chasing each other until forced to stop due to laughing too much.  Then back home for breakfast.

Children still asleep, love that moment when peace fills the house and all is well.

We are cooking breakfast together.  Easy and delicious.

We have asparagus, bacon, pecan nuts and eggs.

Asparagus …if ever a vegetable was made for indulgence this is it!  And no need to get fancy.  We British like our asparagus green, grown in full sunlight.   Other European countries prefer it white with characteristic purple shading and yellow tips.  Before we imported the stuff (and made it available throughout the year) asparagus was an eagerly awaited spring food, grown in the Vale of Eavesham, East Anglia and Cambridgeshire (think wide open spaces, glorious sky lines and fens)  and the customary start date for the asparagus season?  Why 1st May!

Recipe:

Asparagus

Bacon

Eggs

Pecan Nuts

Method:

Lightly rub the asparagus with coconut oil and roast gently in the oven for a matter of minutes until tender.  Wrap with the cooked bacon and top with a fried egg.  Add a few pecan nuts on the side and enjoy!

PS.Some Nutritional Notes on Asparagus - this vegetable is packed full of the good stuff!

It’s rich in beta-carotene which is good for healthy skin and vision; folate which protects against birth defects; soluble fibre which slows down the release of sugar into the blood stream and potassium which helps to balance blood pressure and rutin which protects the body from infection.  It is also a bit of a diuretic and was used in olden days to treat a sluggish digestion and fluid retention.

Do you have any good asparagus recipes?  We’d love to hear..

About Paleo Works

Paleo Works Have you ever wondered how you arrived at “being overweight” and thought how difficult it is to get rid of and keep off those excess pounds? Hi, I’m Katie and together with Mike my husband, we are Paleo Works. As a busy working mum of four, I often watched others embark on weight loss progammes only to return to their start weight (and then some) shortly after reaching their target. Why was this happening? Conventional dietary wisdom would have us believe that it’s YOU who has failed. But Mike and I thought different. We felt that there had to be something wrong with that conventional dietary wisdom after all we can’t all be hopeless? So we studied intensely, sought out advice and read avidly. We questioned robustly and talked with many on various 'dieting' regimes. What we found was radical, our story has to be told, our knowledge has to be shared. So If you are ready to stop blaming your self for being overweight and ready to change your approach to weight loss then contact us and let’s get started!

Posted on May 5, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This looks like a great breakfast recipe! I need to try it. I love Asparagus, but I never really tried to eat it in the morning!

    I might even email this to my paleo diet friends.

  2. Seems like you and I were on the same wave-length this morning! Will definitely try it by rubbing it with coconut oil mmm….

  3. I thought I knew most everything about asparagus. perhaps not. did not know about …elease of sugar into the blood stream and potassium which helps to balance blood pressure and rutin which protects the body from infection. I did know it was a diuretic and also is known to work as a laxative.

    Funny story… I was new on the job and in the very modern and new bathroom (with other girls whom I did not know,,, very pretty, very thin, very young… and then there was me: older, taller, heavier and not nearly as well dressed….). I had a large serving of Asparagus the night before and when I p’d — Oh my god. I forgot about the smell!!! I was so embarrass and tried to stop peeing… but it was just the young beauty queens, and me.

  4. sounds like yummy and fun morning! I Dance ran along the beach the other day chasing the gulls … very fun. I know the folks at the resturant though that middle aged woman has lost her mind. I laughed harder. :D

  5. Sounds and looks delicious! Quick question about oils. I’ve stopped using olive oil for cooking and only use it drizzled onto my food now due to the health risks of heating it. I’m at a loss for what to use in its place? I notice you use coconut oil in your recipe’s but unfortunately I’m allergic to coconut so it wouldn’t work for our family. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

  6. Sounds yummy and I will have to try! We usually toss asparagus with a little extra virgin olive oil, garlic and Celtic sea salt, then roast at 400 till its glossy ( just a few minutes.). It’s usually room temp by the time it’s served and delicious.

    • It is I assure you…re: roasting with olive, this is not to be advised and potentially dangerous, always keep cooking with olive oil to low temperatures to avoid issues with oxidation.

  7. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Asparagus is my all time favorite vegetable. I have never had it with bacon and eggs but I will now. Thank you “Paleo Works”

  1. Pingback: Paleo Breakfast with Asparagus | Health & Fitness Life | Scoop.it

Leave a comment if you liked this or not, your opinion is valued and used to improve our service.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 770 other followers

