Paleo Works for Rock Climbing

Jack Frost on the WallLast week we took a post Christmas break.  It wasn’t much.  We didn’t go away or invite friends over or visit family.  We simply closed the doors and slipped back into our life.  I love these times.  They don’t happen often but they are moments of ordinariness and comfort that bind us together.

One morning, after the children had gone to school and the breakfast dishes were cleared away, we decided to go for a walk.  Our house backs onto the hillside from where it’s a vertical climb up to  the Cow and Calf Rocks.  As we walk uphill, I can feel the slight ache and tension in my calves.  The air is crisp and bright and there is a heavy frost on the ground that dusts the heather white and sparkly.  All the way up the hill, the wind whips my hair across my face, numbing my cheeks.  Mike shouts back at me but I can’t hear his voice.  The climb is exhilarating.

View through the Old Quarry at Cow and Calf RocksWe reach the old quarry.  The sides are steep and for a moment I pause and am uncertain.  But Mike pulls ahead and starts to climb the rock.  I follow, finding foot holds and finger grips as I go, climbing higher and higher.  It feels extraordinary to be using my body in this way.  I am connecting with the rock and doing it and doing it….until just for a second, I experience thought and it interrupts me and I stall.  And I am stuck.  Six foot below the top of the quarry, I am stuck.  It’s a long way down and I am suddenly very afraid.

I am perched on the cliff edge.  Mike is keenly aware that the foothold he found is a step too far.  He tells me firmly to keep still and then disappears back over the top to find another way down.  In the moments he has gone I think how far we have come together on this paleo journey and what a difference it has made to my life.  Because I am up a cliff.  I am stuck, granted (!) but I am up a cliff and I am doing it!

The body has such a need to move and play in whatever shape or form that takes.  Movement releases powerful brain chemicals that lift us and shape us and yet how easy it is to forget and compromise and prevaricate and not use it, caught in the daily routine and grind of work, school runs tea and sofa.

The wind is fierce now.  Mike climbs up the quarry below me and instructs me to place my foot on his shoulder.  He holds me and lifts me down.  And slowly we climb down together until we reach the ground.  Looking back I realise just how high up we were. I wonder too whether the climb was an experience of that point where everything just is, where we sit perfectly in the flow of life, a moment of being?  And may be I’ll never know.  Have you ever challenged yourself?

How has paleo changed you?  Share your experiences with our readers!  We’d love to hear from you……..

About Paleo Works

Paleo Works Have you ever wondered how you arrived at “being overweight” and thought how difficult it is to get rid of and keep off those excess pounds? Hi, I’m Katie and together with Mike my husband, we are Paleo Works. As a busy working mum of four, I often watched others embark on weight loss progammes only to return to their start weight (and then some) shortly after reaching their target. Why was this happening? Conventional dietary wisdom would have us believe that it’s YOU who has failed. But Mike and I thought different. We felt that there had to be something wrong with that conventional dietary wisdom after all we can’t all be hopeless? So we studied intensely, sought out advice and read avidly. We questioned robustly and talked with many on various 'dieting' regimes. What we found was radical, our story has to be told, our knowledge has to be shared. So If you are ready to stop blaming your self for being overweight and ready to change your approach to weight loss then contact us and let’s get started!

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice story and sentiment. Getting out and getting a little bit dangerous every once in a while is a great way to connect with life in a way that we just can’t seem to do in normal day to day life.

    When I think about that, it’s kind of a sad thought, and reminds me of the movie quote (from Braveheart, I think) “Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.”

    Get out there and truly live

  1. Pingback: WTF: Diet, Yoga or Stress | The Paleocookbook Site

  2. Pingback: Play Paleo! « Paleo Works: How To Diet

  3. Pingback: Paleo Works for Rock Climbing | Paleo Works | Scoop.it

Leave a comment if you liked this or not, your opinion is valued and used to improve our service.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 773 other followers

